« ZurückWeiter »
1837, is the true General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church in the United States of America.
Resolved, 2. This Presbytery does cordially approve of the union and action of our Commissioner, Rev. Samuel Wilson, with the only true, proper, and constitutional Assembly aforesaid.
Resolved, 3. That this Presbytery adhere to the said Assembly upon the basis of the reform of 1837 and 1838, as required in the first act established by the said Assembly at its late sessions.
Resolved, 4. That this Presbytery view as highly disorderly and censurable the conduct of those Commissioners to the late General Assembly, who, while that Assembly was being organized, went out with tumult and confusion, without order or propriety, declaring themselves to be the General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church in the United States of America, and afterwards meeting in the First Presbyterian Church in Philadelphia, and receiving a number of persons not belonging to the Presbyterian Church, according to the decision of the General Assembly of 1837, and that in so doing these Commissioners did secede from the Presbyterian Church in the United States of America.
The question on these resolutions was put. Yeas 10, Noes 17. They were lost.
The vote was then taken on the original resolutions.
Rev. R. B. Dobbins read the 3d Section of the 1st Act of the late General Assembly, authorizing the majority to declare themselves the true and proper Presbytery of Schuyler; and upon the authority of said Act, the majority did so declare themselves. The minority was as fol. lows: Ministers—R. B. Dobbins, W. R. Stewart, Samuel Wilson, L. G. Bell, J. M. Chase; Ruling Elders-B. N. Miles, Cyrus Walker, J. G. Walker, Wm. Patterson, George Allison.
Rev. W. R. Stewart was chosen Moderator; and Rev. L. G. Bell, Clerk, pro tem.
The Presbytery was constituted with prayer, and adjourned to meet at the house of Robert H. Burton, Esq.
Rev. D. C. Alden was received at Canton, Sept. 24th, 1838.
Rev. W. R. Stewart was installed pastor of Macomb Church, in the summer of 1838, and Mr. Hummer, of Stephenson Church, the same
Rockingham Church, in Iowa, was enrolled Septem
Rev. W. J. Fraser was denied admission into the Presbytery at Peoria, Sept. 28th, 1838. Rev. Isaac Kellar and Rev. James Stafford were received at the same time.
Rev. Ithamar Pillsbury was received March, 1839.
McDonough was reported in a prosperous condition, and recommended to the affection and patronage of Presbyterians, in 1839.
Rev. A. Ewing and Rev. D. Page were received June, 1839.
Camp Church was enrolled October, 1839, and also Davenport, in Iowa.
The name of the Warren Co. Church was changed to Fall Creek.
Rev. S. Wilson was installed pastor of Monmouth and Fall Creek Churches, Oct. 1839, and continued their pastor till his death, in August, 1847.
At the meeting of the Presbytery, October, 1839, we find the following minute : " The following question shall be the subject of remark at the next meeting of Presbytery, What is the best method of preaching the Gospel ?'”
Rev. J. J. Gray was received October, 1839.
Edwards Church was enrolled April, 1810. Rev. George Stebbins was received at the same time.
The Churches of Mt. Pleasant, Iowa City, Oquawka, and Andover, were received October, 1840.
The Atlas Church was enrolled October, 1840.
Rev. Jonathan Woodruff was received April, 1841, and suspended from the ministry in 1843.
Rev. Enoch Bouton was received April, 1841. Rev. Ithamar Pillsbury was installed at Andover, April, 1811. McDonough Church was dissolved April, 1812. Rev. A. B. Church was received October, 1842. Hebron Church was enrolled October, 1812. The Doddsville Church was enrolled September, 1813. Rev. J. M. Hoge was ordained and installed pastor of Camp Creek Church, October, 1843.
Rev. John Montgomery, October, 1843, while stated supply of Popes River and Edwards Churches.
Rev. T. S. Vaill was ordained at Millersburgh, Mercer County, April, 1841, and installed pastor of Knoxville Church, in 1848.
Rev. S. Clelland was received October, 1844. The Churches of Princeton, Camden, and Sterling were enrolled April, 1845.
Rev. Thomas M. Walker was licensed to preach August, 1815, ordained 1846, and installed pastor of Fountain Green Church, June, 1853.
Rev. T. P. W. Magruder was received October, 1845.
Pleasant Hill Church was enrolled October, 1846, and dissolved October, 1848.
Rev. W. Perkins was ordained as an evangelist October, 1846. Presbytery petitioned Synod to erect Rock River Presbytery in October, 1846, and it was duly erected in April, 1817.
Mr. Henry Davis was received as a licentiate in 1846, and still holds his connection.
Rev. W. F. Furguson was received October, 1848, and died April, 1853, being President of McDonough College.
Rev. W. R. Talbot was received October, 1848.
Rev. Wales Tileston was received December, 1848, and died February, 1851.
Vermont Church was enrolled April, 1849.
Rev. Ralph Harris was received July, 1819, was professor in McDonough College, and installed pastor of Macomb Church, November, 1853.
Mr. Thompson Rowell was received as a licentiate April, 1851, and remains still under our care.
The Chili Church was enrolled September, 1851.
Rev. W. R. Stewart died April, 1852, while pastor of Macomb church.
Rev. R. C. Matthews was ordained and installed pastor of Monmouth Church, December, 1852.
Rev. R. B. Dobben's name was omitted in our roll, October, 1853.
Rev. B. C. Swan was received April, 1853. The Carthage Church was enrolled the same year, and he became pastor of it by installation, Nov. 1855.
Rev. James Cameron was received April, 1853, and installed pastor of Ellison and Fall Creek Churches.
Rev. P. W. Thompson was received Oct. 1853.
Rev. Ithamar Pillsbury, having been detached to Rock River Presbytery, when it was erected, was received back Oct. 1854, and became President of McDonough College.
Rev. W. McCandlish was received Oct. 1854, and installed pastor of Westminster Church in the same month.
Mr. W. L. Lyons was licensed Oct. 1854.
Glenwood Church was enrolled 1855, as also Galesburgh, John Knox, Wythe, Union, and North Henderson.
Rev. S. B. Smith was received Sept. 1855.
. The Presbyteries of Iowa, Rock River, Peoria, Chicago, and Wisconsin have been formed in its original boundary. It has always exerted a strong influence in the Synod in favor of Presbyterian order. It made the first effort in the State to establish a Presbyterian College. Its present limits will soon allow the erection of another Presbytery.
Its stated Clerks have been Rev. Cyrus Watson, Rev. W. K. Stewart, Rev. J. M. Chase, Rev. Thomas S. Vail. Forwarded by order of Presbytery. Yours, truly,
THOMAS S. VAIL.
ANCIENT LETTER. In looking over some old papers the other day, I found the accompanying letter from Ebenezer Pomroy (father, I believe, of General Pomroy of the Revolution) to Dr. Solomon Williams, of Lebanon, relative to the controversy by which Edwards was separated from his people. Perhaps some of your readers (Puritan Recorder] may be interested in it as a curiosity.
NORTHAMPTON, January 17, 1749–50. REVEREND SIR:— I received yours of 27th of November last past, and note the contents; was glad it was hopeful you would write an answer to
Mr. Edwards's book; and was rejoiced to hear you able to say that you
I remain, sir,
EBENEZER POMROY. Rev. MR. SOLOMON WILLIAMS, at Lebanon.
Review and Criticism.
THE HALLIG; OR THE SHEEPFOLD IN THE WATERS. A tale of humble life on the
coast of Schleswig. Translated from the German of BieVNATZKI by Mrs. GEORGE P. MARSH, with a Biographical Sketch of the Author. Boston: Gould & Lincoln, Publishers; and sold by Smith & English, Philadelphia, pp. 298.
The scene of this touching tale is the North Sea. In that sea are numerous islands. “By way of distinction from the larger islands, which are protected by dykes and downs, the smaller ones are called halligs. A ballig is a fat grassplot, scarcely two or three feet higher than the level of ordinary tides, and, consequently, being protected neither by nature nor by art, is often overflowed by the rolling sea.”... “The habitations are erected on artificial mounds of earth, or wharves, seldom leaving more space than is required for a narrow walk around the house on the sloping side of the wharf.” ...“One of the halligs” ...“is the scene of the” present “narrative. It was in the summer of 1824 inhabited by about fifty persons, in nine huts, placed upon six wharves scattered over a surface of scarcely a square mile, and who supplied themselves sparingly with the bare necessaries of life by keeping sheep. The old church having been swept away in 1816, and in 1821 another which had just been com. pleted, a new one, scarcely distinguishable from the other dwellings, served as a place of worship for the pious congregation."
The tale runs through a period of about six months, from September, 1824, to February, 1825, when another inundation occurred, destroying nearly all the houses and other property on the island, and two of the inhabitants. The people were Lutherans, and their pastor appears to have been a faithful and devoted man. With the exception of some doctrinal peculiarities, especially consubstantiation, his views appear to have been evangelical; and the main incidents of the tale, we are told, were real occurrences. While we are free to say that this kind of reading, which is a mixture of fact and fiction, is not according to our taste, it is adapted to interest many readers who complain of more solid and didactic works, that they are dull and prosy, and who if it were not for books of this character would seldom read a religious volume.
KINDLING; OR A WAY to Do it. By a Sabbath School Teacher; with an intro
ductory note by Rev. R. S. STORRY, Jun., D.D. New York: M. W. Dodd, Publisher; and sold by Wm. S. & Alfred Martien, Philadelphia, pp. 384.
This volume is written with earnestness, contains many good thoughts and suggestions about Sabbath schools, and gives such details with reference to conducting them, as are needed by inexperienced teachers and superintendents. Some of the books which he recommends are not such as we approve, and, if we understand him, his views concerning the office of the Gospel ministry are upsound. He thinks that when Sabbath School scholars are converted, they should profess religion and receive the sacrament from the hand of the superintendent, or other intelligent person, whether he has been ordained to the office of the Gospel ministry or not; see pp. 35, 36, and 219–229. His reasons for this innovation apply with as much force to many families and neighbourhoods of people who are not favoured with the stated ministry of the Gospel as they do to Sabbath schools; and the practical effect would be to annihilate the clerical office as a distinct and peculiar vocation. Indeed his theory, as stated by himself, does annihilate the distinction between the clergy and laity; all Christians are priests, and, if they are qualified, have as good a right to preach and administer the ordinances, as those who are specially set apart and ordained to this work. We regret to find this sentiment in the book, as it seriously detracts from its merits, and will make sober-minded men cautious about encouraging its circulation. By those who are sufficiently fortified against this error, the volume may be perused with profit. Its general design of arousing the feelings and kindling the zeal of all our church members in the active promotion of Sabbath schools we heartily approve, and the spirit and tone of the book are adapted to produce this effect. Concerning this important department of Christian labour, we
. would employ the inspired exhortation with reference to doing good in general: “Be not weary in well doing, for in due season ye shall reap if ye faint not.”