« ZurückWeiter »
Yet thence ta'en down, interred here we lie
N a MONUMENT in CASTLE STREET, GLASGOW.
“The dead yet speaketh. Behind this stone lyes James Nisbet, who suffered martyrdom at this place, June 5th, 1684. Also James Lawson and Alexander Wood, who suffered martyrdom, October 24th, 1684, for their adherence to the Word of God, and Scotland's Covenanted Work of the Reformation.
“ Here ly martyrs three,
And witness is
“ This stone was renewed by the proprietors of the Monkland Navigation, April 1818, and again in granite by the citizens in 1862. Drink and think, the Martyrs Monument.”
[This monument is about a quarter of a mile's walk to the north of the High Church of Glasgow, at the Monkland Canal in Castle Street. It is a large tablet of polished granite, built into the wall that encloses the canal. Beneath the tablet a drinking fountain has recently been added.—ED.)
N a MONUMENT in the CEMETERY, PAISLEY.
“Here lie the corpses of James Algie and John Park, who suffered at the cross of Paisley for refusing the Oath of Abjuration, February 3, 1685.
“Stay, passenger, as thou goest by,
And take a look where these do lie;
“ The stone containing the epitaph transcribed on this monument was erected over the grave on the Gallowgreen, the place of common execution; and on the occasion of the ground being built upon, it was removed near to this spot, along with the remains of the martyrs, by order of the magistrates, 1779."
[James Algie and John Park were two young men that belonged to Kenniswood, a village four miles to the south-west of Glasgow. They were seized on the Lord's day, February 1685, while in their own house, as they were about to make family worship. They were tried in the usual summary way the following Tuesday, and were hanged the same day at two o'clock.
In the original edition of the “Cloud," the gravestone is said to have been in Eastwood, but this is evidently a mistake, for Paisley is the place where it has always been. The monument, which is a handsome obelisk, was erected in 1835.-ED.]
IN a GRAVESTONE in the CHURCHYARD, CATHCART.
“This is the stone tomb of Robert Thom, Thomas Cook, and John Urie, Martyrs for owning the Covenanted Work of Reformation, the 11th of May 1685.
“ The bloody murderers of these men
Were Major Balfour and Captain Maitland,
[The monument is a single flat stone, six feet and a half in length, by three and a half in breadth, and when we visited it in 1865, was in good preservation. The lettering has been retouched some years ago. Its style is rare about Glasgow, but common on the martyrs' monuments in Galloway.-Ed.]
N a Stone in the CHURCHYARD, EAGLESHAM.
“Psa. cxii. 6, The righteous shall be in everlasting remembrance. Here lie Gabriel Thomson and Robert Lockhart, who
were killed for "owning the Covenanted Testimony, by a party of Highlandmen and dragoons, under the command of Ardencaple, ist May 1685
“These men did search through moor and moss,
To find out all that had no pass.
[The old monument is alongside of the new one, to which its inscription has been transferred.-ED.)
“Here lies the corpse of that famous and faithful preacher of the Gospel, the Rev. Richard Cameron, with the corpses
of several others who were conquered by the bloody enemies of truth and godliness.
Halt, curious passenger, come and read;
[The stone, when we visited it August 1871, was somewhat broken on one of the sides, and the word "preacher" has been nearly obliterated. Part of the inscription has become quite illegible. The stone in 1832 was set upon a platform some ten feet square, in the centre of which is an obelisk with the following inscription : “Sacred to the memory of the Rev. Richard Cameron, Michael Cameron, John Gemmel, John Hamilton, James Gray, Robert Dick, Captain John Fowler, Thomas Watson, Robert Paterson.” The obelisk is towards the east end of the moss, and is a prominent object from the railway between Lugar and Muirkirk stations, about half a mile to the northward.-ED.]
N a GRAVESTONE in the CHURCHYARD, STRATHAVEN.
“Here lyes the corpses of William Paterson and John Barrie, who was shot to death for their adhering to the Word of God and our Covenants, anno 1685.
“Here lys two martyrs; severally who fell
On the pedestal of the stone—“Renewed by the Reformers of Avondale at the passing of the Reform Bill, anno domini 1832."