Abbildungen der Seite
[graphic][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small]

are now discoverable. This latter place is situated on the road, before mentioned as diverging northward from Ardcarne church, and here the Boyle river is crossed by a bridge of ten arches, which an inscription states to have been erected in 1727, under the superintendance of John French, Edward Drury, Owen Lloyd, Charles Mulloy, and James Seily. The wooded banks of the river give here a very pleasing character to the scene. Pursuing the road hence, northward, over insulated hills varying considerably in extent and elevation, with bogs and moory ground at their bases, Mount Prospect, and the village of Crosna are attained, from each of which is a charming, retrospective view of Rockingham House, its woods, lake, and islands. In the village is a spacious Roman Catholic chapel, to which a fine new steeple has been recently attached, an object visible from a great distance, and itself commanding all the scenery of Kilronan Castle, Oakport, and Rockingham.

Near this are the highlands of Ballyfermoyle, comprising upwards of 700 acres, the estate of Mr. Mulloy, of Oakport, who has opened roads through it, and, by liberal allowances of lime and timber, induced an extensive and comfortable colonization. There have been discovered here some indications of coal, but the inquiry does not appear to have been scientifically prosecuted. In a wild bank of these hills, that cultivation has not yet reached, are two remarkably large tombstone-like slabs, lying beside each other, hacked on their faces with zig-zag lines;

they are like similar memorials found throughout Ireland, popularly called “ giants' graves,” and whose frequent occurrence in Denmark, with the same conjecture as to their object, Saxo-Grammaticus notices in his IIistory (fiji.) Indeed the name of the townland, Bally-fer-moyle, i. e. “ town of the man-heap," seems to suggest the immemorial tradition of their existence and use. The two large, horizontal stones, which are now all remaining of this memorial, are of red sandstone, and measure each seven feet in length, by four feet two in breadth, while the face of the surrounding ground presents many large stones adjacent. On a recent raising of the slabs, they were found to lie quite flat and even, on a pavement apparently artificial, bedded in very fine sand, and extending commensurate with the incumbent slabs. Under this pavement were two strata of black and red earth, of the respective depths of from 6 to 8 inches. These strata have been reported as apparently the same with the surrounding soil, and as resting on the solid rock. The zig-zag characters are cut on each stone, to the proportion of a space of 4 feet by 3. On Ballyfermoyle is also a fort, and several others are scattered through the parish; three on the townland of Ardcarne, two on Carrowmore, two at Farnagalliagh, two at Lismalheare, three on Derrygra, and one on each of the townlands of Carrownagashel, Lisgreaghan, Glooria, and Derreenannagh.



This parish contains, according to the recent Trigonometrical Survey, 9,188A. 3R. 13P., of which 971 A. 1R. 34p. are covered with water. The land was valued for assessment at £3,811 11s. 8d. per annum. Ecclesiastically considered, the rectory is impropriate in Viscount Lorton, without patronage, while the vicarage is comprised, with six others, in the Union of Ardelare, alias Clonygormacan, from all of which, however, this is remote; the Diocesan presents to the union. The rent-charge, now £105, is payable in equal moieties to the impropriator and the incumbent. In the Roman Catholic division this

parish is partly in the Union of Croghan and Ballinameen, and partly in that of Ardcarne and Crosna. The principal proprietor of this is Mr. Hugh Barton. Its population was returned in 1821 as 3,614 persons; increased, on the return of 1831, to 4,433, of whom it was calculated only 233 were members of the Established Church. The late Census states the total, including the inhabitants of Battle-bridge, as but 4,180. There is no church in this parish, but, on the townland of Tumna are some massy old walls of the ancient parochial edifice, measuring in area about 16 yards by 10, having near it a little chantry, 7 yards by 5; these ruins lie close to the junction of the Boyle water with the Shannon, on a swelling slope, and are surrounded by a grave-yard. The Boyle, at west of this point, expands into a fine sheet of water,

« ZurückWeiter »