« ZurückWeiter »
encircled by which is an island of 19 acres, called Inchatyra, to which projects, from the Roscommon side, the beautifully wooded promontory of Drumharlogh, part of the Hughstown estate. On the opposite side of the river, westward, are the ruins of Killeen church, around which, extending from the eastern side of Upper Oakport Lough to Battlebridge, lies the Cootehall property, deriving its name from Colonel Chidley Coote, to whom it was granted soon after the Restoration. Some years since it was purchased by the present proprietor, Mr. Barton. The face of this tract consists of hills, chiefly of limestone gravel, with good parcels of soil interspersed among reclaimed bog. When Mr. Weld published his “Survey of the County of Roscommon” (1832), he stated, that, in several of the then newly erected cottages on this estate, he found the wool-spinning assiduously practised, and looms crowded to excess, for the manufacture of coarse flannels, striped woollens, and cotton stuffs; there is, however, no manufacture or trade here now, and the place presents a mixture of wretched cabins, with a Roman Catholic chapel wholly unworthy of religious appropriation. There are two fairs held annually, on the 18th of May and 14th of November. The old hall is situated on the summit of a gentle eminence, and originally presented a large, quadrangular enclosure, or bawn, of about 100 yards square, bounded by lofty walls, with spacious, but low, round towers, at each angle. The habitable
part occupied nearly the whole of the eastern side, and what remains of it (for it was burned down in 1798 by the insurgents) is now, together with the northern tower, converted to a farm-house. From the terrace in front of the building a fine view opens of Oakport Lough, with the woods round the house. The approach to the hall was, and still is, up a straight inclined plane, the front of which is filled by a conically topped, gable-like wall, perforated with three Saxon arched portals, the centre for carriages, and the sides for foot-passengers. The ascending avenue leads hence to another Saxon arch, opening into the court south of the hall. The river, where it passes out of the Lough of Oakport, is crossed by an old straight bridge of seven arches, on the off side of which, as sketched in the annexed engraving, is an excellent police barrack, also fitted up for holding the district Petty Sessions. Where the Cootehall estate terminates, at the Shannon, a small village of cabins appears on the Roscommon side, and is called Battle-bridge, the river being here crossed by a six-arched bridge, 150 feet long, and 13 wide.
There are various forts in this parish; six on Cootehall; five on Annaghbeg; four on Cloonskeveen; four on Cleagheen; three on Shanballybawn, Lisfarrellboy, Drumsillagh, Tumna, and Dervarry, respectively; two on Brackloon, on Cloonacarrow, on Cloonmaine, on Cuiltyconeen, on Cloonkeen, and on Loughill; and one on each of the following, viz., Cloonfad, Meera, Moigh, Carrigeen, Foxhill, and a remarkably large one on Inchatyra.
THE PARISH OF KILL-BRYAN.
Kill-bryan, the smallest parish of the Barony, contains 3,852 A. OR. 20p., of which more than a fourth is covered with water, a great portion of Lough Ke being included within its bounds; a considerable section of Rockingham demesne is also within its circuit. According to the General Valuation, the total annual value of the land is £2,865 ls. 7d. The rectory is impropriate in the Earl of Kingston, without patronage, while the vicarage forms, as before mentioned, part of the Union of Ardcarne. In the Roman Catholic arrangement it is, as before stated, united with the parish of Boyle. About 110 children are educated in three private schools, to one of which Lord Lorton contributes £14 per annum, and gives a house and garden rent-free. With the exception of Kilteeshan (205A.), which is the estate of Dean French, Lord Lorton is the proprietor of the entire parish. Its population was reported in 1821, as 1,064 persons; increased, in 1831, to 1,349; the comparative enumeration of Roman Catholics to members of the Established Church being, on the latter occasion, laid down as upwards of 12 to 1. The late Census fixes the total number at but 1,114.
The chief objects of attraction in the parish, Rockingham demesne and Lough Ke, have been al