Abbildungen der Seite
PDF
EPUB

ready anticipated in the description of that of Boyle, to which they also, to a certain extent, appertain, and it but remains to observe, that there are two forts on the townland of Keelogues, south of Lough Ke, and another on Kilteashan, east of that water, above Knockvicar-bridge. Near the latter is a spot called Bishop's seat, and north of it a holy well, styled Tobber-Patrick; while in the townland of Aghnasurn is a meal, flour, and tuck mill, there are other mills in this neighbourhood, at Ballyfarnon, beyond Lyonstown, and beyond Keadue.

THE PARISH OF KILRONAN. The Ordnance Survey defines its contents as 16,356A. 1R. 17P. present statute measure, of which 1,681A. 2R. 367. are covered with water. The lands have been valued, for local assessment, at £4,779 11s. 1d. per annum.

In the ecclesiastical arrangement, this is the only parish of the barony that is not within the diocese of Elphin—it is in that of Ardagh ; but, under the operation of the Church Temporalities' Acts, all are now, by union, placed under the same spiritual head in the Established Church. The rectory is impropriate in Mr. Mulloy, of Oakport, who enjoys, however, no patronage in right thereof; the vicarage constitutes a single benefice, to which the Diocesan presents; the rent-charge, £195, being equally divided between the impropriator and the incumbent. The latter has also a glebe of 31a. 3R. 34P., plantation measure (subject to a The part

rent of £10), and a glebe-house, erected in 1815, by aid of the then existing Board of First Fruits.

About three-fourths of this parish are good arable and pasture land—the remainder, mountain of rich geological and mineralogical resources. immediately about Kilronan brings a rent of from 26s. to 30s. per acre. This village consists of but a few straggling houses, some standing close near the road side-others removed from it towards the base of the mountains. In it, however, is the parish church, hereafter more particularly alluded to. The Roman Catholic parochial division is co-extensive with that of the Established Church, and for its congregations are two chapels, one in Keadue, and another at Arigna. There are, within the parish, two National Schools, one at Ballyfarnon, instructing 79, the other at Keadue, 85. The population was, in 1821, calculated to be 5,057 persons, nearly one-third of whom were then employed in manufactures, trades, or handicraft ; the Census of 1831 exhibited an increase to 6,940; but it was then stated, that only 133 of this aggregate had been so employed; and that there were 213 members of the Established Church within the parish. The late Census calculates the total, which includes the inhabitants of the little towns of Keadue and Ballyfarnon, as 7,085, of whom this says 181 are engaged in manufactures and trade. About one-half of the parish is the property of Captain Edward King Tenison, and a considerable portion of the remainder belongs to Mac Dermott Roe,

[ocr errors]

another resident proprietor. Of the many objects of interest to be found within this section of the barony, the old church and grave-yard invite, perhaps, the earliest attention; the new is a neat building, with lancet windows and a spire; it was erected in 1788, stands on an eminence, and has a cemetery attached, in which are some monuments; one particularly, near the church, to the memory of Thomas Cox, son of John Cox, of Creadley, in Worcestershire (who was, on the 23rd of February, 1828,

cruelly murdered,” at Arigna Iron Works, in the 72nd year of his age), has been raised by his sister, Frances Cox. Other monuments occur.—To Joseph Waterhouse, obiit 1831. To the Rev. John Maxwell, Vicar of Kilmactrany, obiit 1841, erected by his widow. To the Rev. Charles Seymour, Vicar of Kilronan. who died in 1834 (his predecessor in the benefice was the Rev. John Little, and his successor, the present incumbent, the Rev. Edward Charles Eager). To Jane. Crowe, alias Hardie, obiit 1839.—Memorials within a railed enclosure, to Miss Frances Tenison, late of Knockranny, obiit 1830, aged 62 ; also to her brother, Thomas Tenison, obiit 1835, aged 76, &c.

Not far from this, at the same side and margin of Lough Meelagh, are the ruins of the old parochial church and grave-yard, within whose hallowed ambit are deposited the last carthly remains of the celebrated Carolan. He was interred in the vault of Mac Dermott Roe, the enclosure of which, as marked in the annexed plate, projects like a transept from the north side of the top of the aisle of the old church. This enclosure is 20 feet long by 16 wide, and at its head are sculptured the armorials of the Mac Dermott Roe, on a white slab inserted in black (as suggested in the engraving), with the motto Honor probataque virtus.” Under this slab, over the mouth of the vault, an altar-like monument is raised, on the top horizontal flag of which are carved the words, “ Sacred to the memory of John Mac Dermott Roe, Esq., and his son Charles, both of Alderford, also of a long line of their ancestors who are here interred. -- Thomas Mac Dermott Roe, Esq., hath erected this monument, as a small but grateful tribute of filial and fraternal affection.—John, above mentioned, died 17th April, 1777, Charles, the 28th of August, 1776." The slab in front records the death of Mulloy Mac Dermott Roe, “ the poor man's magistrate and the poor man's protector.” He died on the 24th day of December, 1835, and here has since been buried his son Thomas Charles Mac Dermott Roe. At the foot of this stone table, are monuments to Charles Mac Dermott Roe, obiit 1717, and to Mary Coulthard, alias Mac Dermott Roe, obiit 1835, aged 76. Another similar enclosure shoots from the east end of the church, within which is the family vault of the Mac Dermotts of Knockranny; and here is a tombstone to Terence Mac Dermott, late of Knockranny, died 17th December, 1737, “ erected by his dearly beloved wife, Helen Mac Dermott Roe, otherwise Dillon,” and another to Catherine Mac Dermott, of Knockranny, obiit 1773, aged 63, erected by her nephew, Edward Mac Donnell, Esq. The walls of about two-thirds of the old church are yet standing and are beautifully situated over the water, the doorway being Saxon-arched, and curiously carved in a representation of cylinders of about four or five inches in diameter. Within the choir are tombstones to the Rev. Patrick Mac Keon, obiit 1796, and to his brother William, who died in the same year; to Mr. William M'Loughlin, of Cabragh, who died in 1834, and to his descendants; to the Very Rev. William Magarry, parish priest of Kilronan, died January, 1816, “ erected by the parishioners;" with many other uninscribed stones: the nave measures 54 feet in length, by 26 in width. In the surrounding cemetery are tombs to the memory of Catherine Mac Loughlin, alias Brehony, obiit 1803, erected by her husband, Barth' “O'Melaghlin;" Owen “Mac Loughlin,” their son, and others of their descendants, are also stated to be buried here.—To Margaret Mac Dermott, obiit 1821.—To Thomas Verdon, who died in 1782, and to his wife Jane Magan, erected by their son James. To Charles Ward, died 1786, and his family.—To John Ward (1812), and his family.—To Bryan Lee, obiit 1790.– To “ Maggy" Daly, otherwise Reynolds, obiit 1797, and her descendants.- To Margaret Regan,

alias Durkin, obiit 1792, and her descendants. -To Myles Cullen, obiit 1795.—To Anthony Daly, obiit 1802, and his descendants. - To Patrick

« ZurückWeiter »