Abbildungen der Seite

church, are stated to be 19,962 A. 3R. 26p., present statute measure, of which 1,235A. 2R. 4 P. are covered with water. The lands, according to the General Valuation, are of the annual value of £8,437 17s. 9d. In its ecclesiastical division the rectory is the head of a union, and, with the rectory of Killuken and the vicarages of Killcorkey and Kill-bryan, forms the corps of the archdeaconry of Elphin. The rent-charge of this parish is at present £210 per annum, exclusively payable to the incumbent. The glebe-house was built by a grant of £100, and a loan of £300, from the late Board of First Fruits, with a further grant of £100 from Lord Lorton; the glebe comprises twenty acres, but of very indifferent land, and subject to a rent of £8. In the Roman Catholic arrangement this parish is popularly styled Crosna, and comprises, with Ardcarne, a portion of Tumna, having two chapels, one at Crosna, and a second at Cootehall. There are, within the parish of Ardcarne, two National Schools at Crosna, one affording education to 114 boys, and the other to nearly the same number of girls. There are 86 townlands within Ardcarne, of which 32, comprising about 6,500A., are the estate of Lord Lorton; 9, containing about 3,400A., that of William Mulloy, Esq. ; 8, about 1,800A., that of Hugh Barton, Esq., &c.

The population of this district was laid down, in 1821, as 5,684 persons, increased in the Census of 1831, to 6,718; the proportion of Roman Catholics to members of the Established Church, then appearing to be

[merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][graphic][merged small][merged small]

as sixteen to one. The late census accounts the total as 8,304. The northern portion of the parish is bounded by the Feorish river, separating it from that of Kilronan. It has a considerable quantity of reclaimable bog, and an improving system of tillage is being adopted. Limestone and freestone of the best description for architectural purposes abound, and indications of coal have been discovered in Ballyfermoyle, but, though shafts were sunk, no further operations have been continued. The Boyle river runs through the parish, being crossed by a bridge at Knockvicar, where its banks are adorned with some pleasing scenery.

The church of Ardcarne, being the head of the union, is situated at the southern extremity of this parish, at the hill where once stood a considerable village, the seat of the rural Bishop of Ardcarne, and where a great market for wool was held within memory. Vestiges of the town are still traceable, to a considerable extent of walls now sodded over; a very ancient road also marks one of its former approaches. The church, alluded to, is an old and plain, but roomy edifice, lately embellished with a steeple; in the body are pews for the family of Lord Lorton, and for those of Mr. Mulloy and Mr. Irwin; there are no monuments within it, but the adjoining cemetery, which comprises an English acre, exhibits several, especially for the families of Mac Dermott, from 1746; Mulloys, of Hughstown and Oakport, from 1796; Blighs, from 1786; one to Patrick Mac Dermott Roe, obiit 1810, and his descendants; another fine monument to George Mac Dermott Roe, and Esther Mac Dermott, alias O'Berne, his wife; the former died in 1836, the latter in 1833. Others to Richard Smith, obiit 1827; to Mrs. Hudson, of Westminster, obiit 1813; to Mary Kilkenny, 1765; to Miss Armstrong, of Maguire's-bridge, 1826, &c.; but the most remarkable is that noted by Weld as standing upright, surmounted by a pediment immediately facing the east end of the church. It bears the date of 1668, and, as far as it can be now deciphered, purports to be erected by Cormac Mac Dermott, in honour of his wife Eleanor Crean. Above the inscription stands a coat of the Mac Dermott Roe arms in relief, surmounted by a tablet with emblems of the Crucifixion. The parochial schoolhouses were erected and are supported by Lord Lorton; they immediately adjoin the church, and are opened for boys and girls respectively, while three Sunday schools are held in the parish, two established by the late Lady Lorton, and one by the Misses Mulloy, of Oakport.

Opposite the church of Ardcarne, the boundary of Rockingham demesne (which also extends into this parish) turns abruptly off from the great Dublin road, following for some distance the course of a minor one, which leads to the northern portion of the barony. At the eastern side of this road is situated Oakport, the very beautiful seat of Mr. William Mulloy; the demesne comprises 630A., most

« ZurückWeiter »