« ZurückWeiter »
ship, belonging to many clubs, – the University Club of Boston, the Union Club of Boston, the Monday Evening Club, the Park Club, and Country Club of Pittsfield, the D. K. E. Fraternity, the Oakley Country Club, and the Windsor Club of Windsor.
Yale University conferred upon him the degree of LL.D. in 1891.
Mr. Justice Barker made his home all his life in his native town), to which he was much attached and in which he was held in universally affectionate regard.
He left four daughters and a son, John Barker, now in the practice of the law in Pittsfield.
For an extended appreciation of Judge Barker's life and character reference is made to the tribute paid him by John D. Long at a meeting of the Society, beld October 12, 1905.1
1 2 Proc. xix. 309-311.
EGBERT COFFIN SMYTH.
By EDWARD STANWOOD.
EGBERT COFFIN SMYTH was born in Brunswick, Maine, on August 21, 1829, and died in Andover, Massachusetts, on April 12, 1904. He was the son of William and Harriet Porter (Cotlin) Smyth, — married in 1827, — and was the first born of a family of seven sons and two daughters.
William Smyth, his father, was born in 1797, at Pittston, on the Kennebec, the son of a ship carpenter, who removed, soon after the birth of William, to Wiscasset, at the head of the Sheepscot River. His mother was the daughter of Nathaniel Coffin, a lawyer of Wiscasset.
William Smyth was forced to a heroic struggle against the great obstacle of poverty to obtain the college education which he earnestly desired. At the age of sixteen he enlisted as quartermaster sergeant in a regiment raised for service in the War of 1812, for the purpose of earning money toward his education. After a year in that capacity (not having been called into active service), he opened a private school in Wiscasset, and devoted the hours when not engaged in school duties to self-preparation for college, and, after fitting himself to enter as a freshman, pursued the studies of the first two years of the college course. With such preparation he entered Bówdoin College as a junior in 1820, and graduated with first honors in 1822. After a year of study at the Andover Theological Seminary he was called back to Bowdoin to become a tutor, and from that time, 1823, to the end of his life, fortyfive years later, he was a member of the college faculty. In 1825 he was made adjunct professor of mathematics, Professor Parker Cleaveland being at the head of the department. In 1828 Cleaveland was made professor of chemistry and