« ZurückWeiter »
with some sentences of scripture
and setting upp the Kings armes £ s.
in the Church - 310
Payd more to the sayd William
Payd unto Issabel daughter of Tho-
Payd for a vessel to the workeman
Year by year the usual repairs continue, the entries being of more or less interest; one of the most curious being in 1672-3—"for making a desk "& chain for the Book, & expended on the worke"man, 00 : 05 : 00." The altar rails were also repaired during these two years, in which the churchwardens seem to have had a hard time, a large expenditure having been incurred in recasting a bell, and they close their accounts with this entry: "for gathering Church Leyes these two yeares "goeing about the pshss 22 times."
The following are a few of the more interesting extracts relating to the church fabric and furniture. Nearly every year during the century covered by the volume of accounts, expenses were incurred for repairs, slates, lime, &c, and there are also many interesting entries concerning parish expenses and charities, to quote which would lengthen this paper to too great an extent. Many entries referring to the bells are quoted in Appendix B., as well as the complete account for the year 1687.
1675. An hour glass & frame - - - 02 : 00
1676. to James Willson for Collectun
boxes 00 : 01 : 00 1677. 4 yards J of green bayes for a To 4 Silk Tassels at 3s per
carpet 00 : 05 : 10
for two dales to repair the seats
of the Little He - - - - 03 : 00
1678. to the act for burying in Woollen 00:06
1680. to a plate for the Communion
table 01 : 02
1682. The "bread desk" was enlarged, and the
chest, reading desk, and Mr. Litherland's pew repaired; a frame was made for the Table of Degrees, and the "quire fframe" was removed. The capitals of the chancel arch, when found in 1857, were morticed for the reception of a choir screen.
1683. to an hower glass - - - - 00 : 00 : 10 to turning the pulpit and make
ingapue&deske forye p^son 00 : 05 : 00
1684. goeing to Liurpoole wth the
Great Bible, ex. - - - - 00 : 00 : 10 to Mr. Gerrard for the great Bible
1688. A new Service book - -
1690. to an Hour glass - -
1691. to ex. w,h Tho. Cotton at Bar
gaineing about the East
Gable end of the Church - 00 : 00 : 08
1692. to Tho. Cotton for repairing
Chchyard wall 00 : 02 : 00
This would probably be the occasion on which that individual used the remains of the Weeping Cross, broken by King William's men, for steps for the stile leading to the cross in Wallasey village.
1694. to a new hour glass - - - - 00 : 01 : 00 1698. to ex. on two Severall Paymnts
about undertakeing to paint
the Ch: 00 : 06 : 06
to Tho. Cotton to mend the
"July 6th 1704.
"Memorand that 'tis agreed the day & year aboues'1 Between Samuel Dean & James Preeson Churchwardns & Tho: Cotton Mason for & Concerning the Gable end & window of the South He of the psh Church of Wallasey the s'1 Tho: Cotton hath agreed to take the s'1 Church South end He and window downe to the foundacun & Set up the sJ gable end & window again wth the addicon of Such new stone as shall be requisite to make the work Compleate & to find all Scaffolding and materialls except as follows & to begin upon the Sd work w,hin such convenient time as shall seem meet to the S(1 Tho: Cotton soe as the same work shall & may be fully finished & compleated before Micalmas next ensueing The sd Churchwardns are to find and provide seven barrells of good Lyme & to Lead all new Stone to the Church as shall be needfull to the work & to pay to the Sd Tho: Cotton when the work is finished the Sume of three pounds Sters, the S'1 wardns to take the slate adjoyneing to the Church end off & to take Care of the glass witness our hands.
1722.4s For two Altar Table Cloths, the one Green the other white, and making the same, and mending the black cloth 01 : 07 : 06
Coloured altar cloths were surely not common at this period of general laxity in Church matters.
45 There is an hiatus in the Churchwardens' Account from 1699 to 1722, though the notices of meetings continue.
1726. In this year there was a Church Ley of is.
per oxgange, for repairs to the roof of the
"North lie." 1729. To A new Communion Plate - 00 : 01 : 02 To the frame for a Benefaction
Table 00 : 06 : 00
"July 31, 1729.
"We whose names are Subscribed being met "according to notice given in the Church on Sun"day last to Lay the Ch: Wardens John Dean and "Thomas Richardson a Ley, Do allow and order "the said Churchwardens to Gather a Ley of one "Shilling per Oxgange through the Parish to defray "the Charges of white washing writing and beauti"fying the Church and other parish Expences.
"As witness our hands,
"John Mullinix, John Robinson, John Smith "(his mark), Sam1- Urmson, Benj Ranford, Joseph "Robinson (his mark). "Isaac Hyde Cu<-"
1729. To Lime and Workmen for the
white-washing the Church
and School 01 : 16 : 06
To Lodging, Hair, Carting and
Sizing for the Church - - 00 : 03 : 06
Painter - - - - - - - 05 : 10 : 00
1734. Boards and Timber for Singers
Seats 00 : 11 : 03
1736. To a Copper Cock for the
Steeple 03 : 16 : io£
To wast of Copper and work-
To Smiths Bill for a Spindle - 00 : 03 : 11
1745. To ifyd of Velvet for pulpit
cushion at 17s- pr. yard - - 01 : 09 : 09
Tassel 00 : 12 : 00
To 4lb- of Feathers at iod- pr.
pound 00 : 03 : 04
To two large Skins - - - - 00 : 01 : 10
yd 00 : 02 : 02
To thread Silk and making the
cushion 00 : 02 : 06
1749. To Tho:Willson & John John
son Lading & making clay
1750. To Henry Cotton for Building
the West End of Church - 17 : 17 : 00 To Eighty pounds w. of Bars
for the new window - - - 01 : 06 : 08 To Tho. Willson for the new
window and repairing old - 01 : 02 : 08
In the year following—1751—further large re-, pairs were undertaken, 5200 slates being procured at 16s. per thousand; and on 21 June, 1751, a parish meeting levied a church ley of 3s. per oxgange to take down and rebuild the west gable end of the church.
Shortly after this date—about the year 1760— this church was pulled down, with the exception of the Tudor tower, and the materials used in the construction of a new church, the carved stones being built into the walls. These, when found, were thickly covered with whitewash, the details being picked out with red lines; those of the Norman period bearing the appearance of having undergone a previous fire. There is a tradition that the church has been thrice burnt, having been twice a church without a tower, and once a tower without a church, or vice versa. The portion of the north aisle